What to Do
Find a Business
Find a Deal
Add an Event
Submit News
Promote my Business

Nominations sought for Zeisberger Heckewelder Award

John Heckewelder and David Zeisberger were missionaries with the Moravian Church. Both worked closely with the Native American people in the region. The Zeisberger Heckewelder Award is named in their honor.


The Tuscarawas County Historical Society is looking for nominations for its annual Zeisberger Heckewelder Award. The award is given each year to up to four individuals and an organization that has made significant contributions to Tuscarawas County, making it a better place to live, especially in the preservation of history.
According to the award guidelines, the nominee must be a resident of or be located in Tuscarawas County. Current public officeholders are not eligible.
The Tuscarawas County Historical Society first presented the prestigious awards in 1981 and has given them out yearly ever since. The basis of the award is service to society and to the county. Winners will be announced in April and the awards presented at the Tuscarawas County Historical Society’s annual Founders Day Banquet in May.
Nominations for the Zeisberger Heckewelder Award are being accepted from now until Feb. 1. Nominations must be made in writing and include the nominee's name, address and phone number; the nominator's name, address and phone number; a written explanation of why the nominee should be considered for the award; a list of any leadership roles the applicant has held in Tuscarawas County; and any supporting documents, like newspaper articles and letters of support.
Nominations can be mailed to the TCHS, P.O. Box 462, New Philadelphia, OH 44663, or dropped off at the Tusc Kent Archives in Founders Hall on the campus of Kent State University Tuscarawas during regular office hours on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 8 a.m. to noon.
For further information about the Zeisberger Heckewelder Award, call the Tuscarawas County Historical Society at 330-308-7494 or email tuschs@tuschs.org">tuschs@tuschs.org. For a list a previous winners of the award, visit www.tuschs.org.

Published: January 9, 2018
New Article ID: 2018180109989